Can several people work on the same page?
Yes, this is possible, if you have the rights to do so.
If two persons are editing an saving the same page, only the last one who saved it, will be published.
But no version will ever be deleted. If you go to "Revisions" (at the right, among "Actions"), you find the overview of the different editions and revisions of the page.